Spurned by the Hall of Fame

Bob Huggins, 6th all-time with 868 wins and 2 wins from passing the great Dean Smith to become the coach with the 5th most wins in history, has once again been snubbed by the Basketball Hall of Fame.

The eight finalists announced today were:

  • Kobe Bryant
  • Tamika Catchings
  • Tim Duncan
  • Kevin Garnett
  • Kim Mulkey
  • Eddie Sutton
  • Barbara Stevens
  • Rudy Tomjanovich

Although all of these players and coaches are certainly deserving of the honor of being inducted into the Hall of Fame, Bob Huggins’ absence from the list is an absolutely shameful injustice.

There are few more deserving in the game of basketball than Bob Huggins.  After all, he has 868 wins, has led two different schools to the Final Four, and has won 70% of his games over the course of his illustrious 36 year career.

The selections for this year’s Hall of Fame class will be announced at the Final Four in April. The enshrinement ceremony will take place in Springfield in August.