Four New Teams Accepted into the Big 12 Conference

Morgantown, West Virginia – The votes are in and the Big 12 Conference has now voted to approve UCF, BYU, Cincinnati and Houston as members of the conference.

As we reported yesterday, the new conference will feature two divisions, the East and West.  West Virginia will join Cincinnati, UCF, Kansas, Kansas State and Iowa State in the East Division.

The West Division will include Texas Tech, BYU, Oklahoma State, Baylor, TCU and Houston.  The winners of the two divisions will likely play in the Big 12 Championship at the end of the season.

Although this isn’t as exciting as joining the ACC, it perhaps gives West Virginia the best shot at making a conference championship and even competing for a national championship.